Universal Responsibility in Spiritual Guidance

There is an aspect of teaching that is profoundly important to me, yet is rarely talked about. It has to do with the responsibility that a teacher has to a student or audience. Students will often put the teacher on a pedestal. They assume that the teacher knows something that they don’t, and then rely on the teacher’s guidance. Whether the teacher realizes it or not, people will make an authority figure out of him or her. By doing so, the student puts their faith, or personal power, in the words of their teacher. This is not necessarily bad. If a person is in a high degree of hell, and they need help to get out of it, they are often better off listening to someone who has moved past those demons, than to the judge and victim in their own mind.

When a student puts their trust in a teacher, the teacher then has a great responsibility to the student. The teacher is in service to the student. But, this does not mean that the teacher is responsible for the student. The student remains always responsible for their own choices, actions, and results of their actions.

In the beginning of my time as a teacher, I did not appreciate the level of responsibility that students put in my hand. I was naive of how much faith my students would put in what I said. As I became more aware of people’s willingness to put their faith in me (something that I didn’t really consider the impact of early on) I became more careful of my instructions and guidance.
A dedicated Spiritual pursuit will bring change to your life. In the way you view the world, feel emotionally, what career changes might be incurred, relationships, and everything else.

The integration of these changes in one’s life can be challenging. They often take time. If rushed, they become sources of drama that interfere with our creation of happiness. When the integration of change becomes more a source of suffering than a source of happiness, we are moving too fast.
Unconditional love means not needing to change anyone, and that includes you.

For me, to love unconditionally became the most powerful act of transformation. It transformed me and my entire personal dream.  It completely changed my relationship with my existence in human form, forcing me to dissolve all the fear based beliefs and judgments.
And the irony is that it came to me through someone who didn’t have a need to change me.  My guru, Paramahansa Yogananda taught by example.  It was simple. UNCONDITIONAL LOVE is at the heart of what a teacher has a responsibility to impart to those he or she is responsible to.  It may be the only thing they have a responsibility to.

If you have a teacher or coach with an agenda to change you or make you “better”, consider how this interferes with self acceptance.  They may want the best for you, but their best might come with an agenda that you could or should be different than you are.  This will not be a reflection of love and acceptance.  It is love that makes you happy and allows you to be yourself.

In peace and unity,
Sri Anu Mata

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Spirit Matter Authors

