Forgiveness: It’s never too late

Forgiveness: It is never too late

It is never too late to forgive. There is no wrong time to offer forgiveness – no wrong time to ask for forgiveness. The Universe (God, Spirit, whatever term you want to use) wants us to forgive ourselves – it wants us to know what we could never have thought, felt, said, or done something that puts us beyond forgiveness. In fact, forgiveness is so available that we are forgiven in the moment we realize we may have done something that warrants it. We may not feel it or realize it until we ask for forgiveness or go within to forgive ourselves, but it is there.

As an analogy, I think forgiveness is like the air. I may choose to hold my breath and not take advantage of it – but the air is still there, waiting for me to use it. Beyond that, I may choose to carry it to the extreme and hold my breath until my vision blurs, my head pounds and I get dizzy. But eventually I will pass out and breathe normally. The air will still be there waiting. It won’t refuse to enter my lungs because I was slow, stubborn, angry, or filled with self-righteous pride. It will still be there and will spill into me spontaneously and joyfully the moment I allow it. I think forgiveness works the same way.

What about others forgiving us? This is probably the next logical question. I think they want to forgive us – that they are longing to forgive us. But I think for that to happen, a few things must happen first:

1. We must forgive ourselves for whatever part we played in an event. It may be something we did or said – or something we neglected to do or say, but something happened. These things do not happen in a vacuum. Everyone involved played some part in what is going on. Which leads to …

2. They must forgive themselves for their own part in whatever has happened. They may say “I forgive you,” but without this step it is likely that these are just “feel good” words that defuse the situation but don’t really get us to the heart of the matter.

3. Ask! Usually someone must swallow their pride, move past their righteous indignation, get over their fears, bite the bullet and ask.

4. If forgiveness isn’t offered, return to step 1 and begin again.

And what if we reach the conclusion that the other(s) involved just aren’t going to forgive us or accept our forgiveness of them? You smile … but it happens. And when it does I think all we can do is forgive ourselves, forgive the other(s) absolutely and completely, and then let it go.

OK. I’ve gone on long enough on this topic. You get the idea. Next time I will write about letting go.

Much love and many blessings to each of you.

Namaste.

PS: When I write about these spiritual matters, it is because of something I have observed or experienced in virtual worlds as well as in the physical world. People are people, regardless of the means of connecting with them.

Copyright 2012 ConnieJean Maven (and the person writing under this pen name)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Spirit Matter Authors

